to Keadue and enjoy harp and traditional music in this
mystical village surrounded by lakes, woodland and
archaeological sites at the foot of the Arigna
Keadue (Ceideadh - which means low lying hill) is set on
the Arigna mountains scenic drive in a landscape adorned by
lakes and mountains. The village presents a delightful
picture with traditional houses, stone walls, gardens, and
window boxes adorned with flowers and shrubbery. In 1993
Keadue won the National Award in the Tidy Towns Competition,
being declared Ireland's tidiest town and best kept
O'Carolan International Harp
The renowned music festival takes place annually in
Keadue commencing August Bank Holiday. This ten day event of
Irish music and culture, features traditional music
concerts, sessions and workshops, craft demonstrations and
exhibitions, side by side with the International Harp
Competition, School and Recitals. The festival is a must for
anyone interested in Irish tradition or music.
Harper, composer and singer, Turlough O'Carolan is known
as the last of the Irish bards and was born in County Meath.
Whilst still a young boy, he moved with his family to County
Roscommon. At Alderford House, O'Carolan came under the
guidance and tutelage of the McDermottroe family. At the age
of 21, having completed his education and musical studies,
O'Carolan's career as a bard and composer began. It is as a
composer that O'Carolan is best known and some 200 of his
tunes survive to this day including the well known piece
"O'Carolan's Concerto". His remains now lie at Kilronan
Abbey, built by the O'Duignans in the fourteenth
American visitors will be interested to know that "The
Star Spangled Banner" is based on music composed by Turlough
St Lasair's Holy
The name is derived from St Lasair who was a daughter of
St Ronan. The flagstone beside the well was at one time St
Ronan's altar, and the hollowed stone his water font. Local
tradition claims the well and St Lasair's clay have curative
Keadue Court Tomb (3000
Beside Lough Meelagn, this is a classic example of a
Court Tomb in excellent condition. The 5000 year old site is
a major archaeological find and is easily reached by a short
walk through the forest. The immediate area around Keadue
boasts of at least four other sites dating 3000 BC. There
are also many Promontory Forts, Ring Forts and other sites
of historical interest.
It's name means "The Lake of the Marsh" and it is on the
lake's island that St Ronan and St Lasair were laid to rest.
There are several Crannogs on the lake. These are man-made
islands of timber and rock used for defence and habitation
and were occupied during the early Christian period through
to the seventeenth century.
The lakeside has been developed for family recreation and
among it's facilities are car parking and picnic points,
children's swings and bathing. Visitors may relax among the
natural beauty of the trees and plants or explore the haunts
and lifestyle of wildlife in the area.
The original castle built in the 1700's belonged to
Colonel King Tenison. The present structure was built by The
Earl of Kingston in 1876.
Opened in 1993 to commemorate the last Irish bard,
Turlough O'Carolan, the park is located in the centre of
Keadue. The bronze harp is a replica of O'Carolan's harp
while the music of his first composition "Sidh Beag, Sidh
Mór" can be seen in the Round House. Also on the site
is a traditional sweat house discovered during construction
on the park. With its traditional flagsone paths, fountains
and panoramic view of the scenic Arigna mountains, the park
is an ideal location to spend a quiet moment.
This is a fine Gothic style Church built by McCarthy in
1862 using red sandstone. It was renovated in 1981.
- Horse Riding
- Tennis Courts
- Walking Trails
- Miners Walk